Recent happenings and thoughts

Well here’s the biggest mish-mash of “life” ever, but this is just about how our real life is these days.

Even though I have totally dropped the ball on keeping up with our Bumpdates page, I’m almost 37 weeks now and potentially just 3-4 weeks away from meeting our baby boy.  It’s all flown by so fast for me – it’s hard to believe it’s almost here.  But, Keaton reminds me constantly that he’s in there with all his kicks and jabs and my swollen feel are an unwelcome reminder of his impending arrival.

Friends have told me that I’m being super calm about it all, which isn’t really normal for me – I’m usually a pretty anxious person. I’m not sure what has made me more calm during this time, but I’m sure getting so much done at the beginning of pregnancy helped, and knowing for a fact that so much of this whole process is out of my control.  I just feel really ready to meet him and to start this new phase of life, while also understanding that this is such a special time in our lives.  I’m glad my normal self isn’t ruining it with being a huge worry-wart about labor and the weeks following.  It will all be just fine!

We’ve had lots of great things going on lately, like several showers, maternity photos, finishing the nursery, and finishing up lots of classes at our hospital.  All great things and huge blessings to us, but we are also grateful that the next month’s calendar is pretty blank.  Here are just a few photos from recent happenings:

Special, sweet friends who helped give me a baby shower at our church, Forest Hills Baptist

Special, sweet friends who helped give me a baby shower at our church, Forest Hills Baptist, in July

232323232fp54375>nu=3349>43-8>WSNRCG=39728-5-6-337nu0mrj

Ladies who helped give Aaron and I a shower at my parent’s church in Clinton, Rowan Baptist. So grateful to be a part of not one, but two church families.

One more shower, given by sweet coworkers at the Convention.

One more shower, given by sweet coworkers at the Convention.

Maternity photos taken by our friend, Brian Caffarel, are below.  We are very grateful for his talent and to have those photos to show Keaton one day.  Just a few of my favorites:

LsdpmegrFl6rJProOveC1TQV2BpO8uNfh8q8RL-tOzo

CsqyUbcYQsT7noExOVUnUWRRBAVII4A_DQMiCEaMUt4,OlXoveNB4kpZq0TNCV1WWDbPZUYNhua_rbV83pS6w5U

JFGErZkc1njkgx__QoTsl7NLxHTSEx0pddBgcvWT1I4

MNkPeeP8UZNihLL3OAgIj4Zd_rFEuPV-CvkzvlKkX0E,8qSKVG2cYEhgKLTiO6IXJYmHyEbmkC6OZXCxjwnvFKw

We’ve also been able to get a lot done in preparation for my time off from work.  I mentioned before how I wanted to stock up on essentials and take care of loose ends for when I won’t be getting a paycheck during maternity leave.  Thankfully, through store sales and coupons, I’ve been able to really stock up well.  We have enough toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, contact solution, body wash, deodorant, paper towels, toilet paper and laundry detergent to last us into 2014 (seriously – I calculated how much we’d need of each item to get us there) and I still didn’t spend more than my normal allotment each month for groceries/toiletries.  Extreme couponing for the win!

We’re also “packed to the gills” in my SUV.  Carseat is installed; stroller is in the back; emergency towels are at the ready; and I’ve got two pillows packed just in case as well.  So we look like we might be moving into the hospital, but we sure are ready for anything!  Actually, having the carseat installed has been a huge help in my mental preparation for Keaton being here.  As much as I’ve wanted a baby, it has literally taken the full 9 months for me to wrap my head around the idea of us being a family of three and each little step in our preparation helps me get there.  We have one of those baby mirrors where I can look back and see him in his carseat right behind me.  So every time I’m in the car, I look back and see where he would be sitting and think about him being back there and what that will be like and how he’ll play with the little toys dangling from the carrier or how I’ll deal with him screaming his little head off when I’m stuck in traffic on I-40.  I can’t wait for all of it.

photo (1)

And then here’s just another reason we look like we are moving to Wake Med Cary:

photo

Our bags are pretty much packed and ready, but these are just for me and the baby.  I’m not sure how other hospitals works, but in our classes, they suggested we have a bag for the delivery room we’ll be in, and then a bag for the postpartum room.  Makes sense to me – so that’s why there are two bags for me.  The third is Keaton’s diaper bag with his going home outfit, if it will fit and we can wrangle him into it.  I have back ups if that one doesn’t work out 🙂  We only live about 10-15 minutes from the hospital so it will be super easy for someone to head back to the house for anything we forgot or need.

And I could go on and on with all the happenings for our little family lately, but I’ll spare you for now.  We’re just getting so excited and are staying grateful for a healthy baby and a healthy pregnancy.  Please be praying for us in the next few weeks.  Every day tasks are getting harder and I’m getting more uncomfortable, but we have so much to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

