A little switcharoo

When we moved into this house almost 3 years ago, I tried to be super practical. I tried to anticipate our needs over the next couple of years so I instructed Aaron to put furniture in rooms that made the most sense. What I didn’t anticipate was me changing my mind.

More specifically, I changed my mind about which of our three guest bedrooms would be the nursery. Originally it was this room:

photo-12

It isn’t really decorated, because we left it as is since we knew one day we’d be decorating it for a baby.

Well, the problem is that this is the smallest bedroom in our house and once I started thinking about all that baby will need, I just think that the baby should have one of the larger bedrooms.

BUT we already set up “adult” guest bedrooms in those two big bedrooms. So here comes the switcharoo. To recap, here’s how each room looked before and how it changed.

This bedroom USED to be a guest bedroom and used to look like this:

photo-11

Now, it looks like a hot mess since this is the room that will be the nursery so I’m not going to show a picture just yet.

And this bedroom USED to be a guest bedroom, and will stay a guest bedroom, just with different furniture in it. Here’s how it looked before:

photo (28)

And this is how it looks now. You’ll notice the furniture from what will be the nursery moved into this room. I really like how it all turned out in here, thanks to some new bedding from my parents for Christmas and some beautiful pieces that were in my grandmother’s house.

photo (5)

photo (6)

And here’s the very tiny bedroom that we originally thought would be the nursery.

photo-12

And here is how it turned out now.  It was a tight fit, but I was glad that we made it work.  I especially love that we were able to mount the tv on the wall to save some space, too.

photo (3)

photo (4)

Phew! That might not seem like a lot, but it definitely was a lot of work over the last few months just to get those two rooms finished off.  Thanks to Aaron for moving all that furniture around by himself. Now, if we could just get the nursery done before Baby gets here, all will be good!

Leave a Reply

