Back into the swing of things…

It seems like after a holiday or a big glitch in our normal routine always results in us taking a long time getting back into the swing of things.  So thanks to Christmas, New Year’s, MLK Day, and a few ice/snow days, we’ve had a hard time getting back into our normal schedule of grocery shopping and cleaning.

But last Wednesday I had enough.  I made myself sit down and go through all my coupons and I made a list of the cleaning/organizational things that needed to be done at home.  The home stuff may get done this weekend, but I was thankful for a late night Harris Teeter trip last week to get a few needed things.  You’ll see how we did below, but first some updates on us.

We got a little burned out on house projects over the Holidays.  You can see from the last few posts that we did a ton of projects in a short amount of time and now we’re just over it.  Aaron is, however, working on a birthday present for me which I’ll share as soon as we get it installed and finished.

And even though we find ourselves quite busy and trying desperately to get back into a routine, we’ve surprisingly had some great down time lately, which is one reason for my lack of blogging.  My biggest goal for 2013 is to commit to less and have more down time to rest and recharge.  I struggle with guilt for not doing every little thing and I’m slowly learning to let go of that guilt.  A Saturday or two ago, Aaron and I struggled to keep our Saturday free from plans.  So without plans, I was able to do a gazillion loads of laundry, we vacuumed & cleaned, did the dishes, Aaron started on my birthday project, we did some much needed home organization, and we had time left over to chill!  I need more days like this!  So in 2013, I plan to schedule more “non-scheduled” time.  We were, however, grateful for our families coming this past weekend for my birthday.  It’s always fun to celebrate like that with family, even if it is one more thing that is “scheduled.”

So maybe I’ll be better about blogging and couponing and generally saying “no” when I don’t really need to say yes. Here’s hoping the next 11 months of 2013 are a little more relaxed and a little less scheduled.

And here’s how last week’s HT trip went.  Not too bad at all considering we really needed the Cascade, the DO, the razors, and some snacks.  And, we grabbed some FREE Tide!

photo-71

Red Baron pizza (2): On sale for 2 for $6.68 each plus I had a $1.00 off two coupon making these 2 for $5.68.

Blue Diamond Almonds (2): On sale for 2 for $3.59 plus I had a $1.00 off two coupon making these 2 for $2.59.

Chex Mix (2): On sale for 2 for $2.85 plus I had a $0.50 off coupon which doubles to $1.00 plus I had a ZVR for $0.50 off making these 2 for $1.35.

Campbells Chunky soup (2): On sale for $0.97 each plus I SHOULD have gotten another $0.50 ZVR to come off but it didn’t.

Armour Meatballs: On sale for $1.92 plus I had a $0.55 off coupon which doubled to $1.10 making their $0.82.

Rotel (2): On sale for $1.00 each plus I had a $0.50 off coupon which doubled to $1.00 making these $0.50 each.

Mahatma Rice: Regular price $2.79 plus I had a coupon for $0.50 off which doubles to $1.00 making this $1.79.

Welches Juice: Regular price $3.79 – not a good price but needed for the smoothie mix that comes next.

Welches Smoothie mix (2): Regular price $3.99 each.  Also not a great price, but I’ve really wanted smoothies in the mornings.

Tide Boost: On sale for $5.99 plus I had a $3.00 off coupon PLUS a $3.00 off ZVR coupon which makes this FREE!

Old Spice Deodorant: On sale for 2 for $7.00 plus I had a $1.00 off two coupon plus a $1.00 off two ZVR making this 2 for $5.00

Cleansing cloths: On sale for $2.29 plus I had a $0.75 off coupon which doubled to $1.50 making this $0.79.

Pampers diapers: On sale for $9.49 plus I had a coupon for $1.50 off PLUS a $1.00 off ZVR making this $6.99.  Not too bad for Pampers.

Cascade: On sale for $5.99 plus I had a $1.00 off coupon plus I had a $1.00 off ZVR which made this $3.99.

Intuition razor refills: Not on sale and kind of pricey at $13.99 but I needed them and had an almost expired coupon for $2.00 off making this $11.99.

Total spent: $59.72. The razors really brought that total us, but I’m happy with the prices of most everything else.  Especially my free Tide!

Leave a Reply

