A weekly update on life.

You may notice a different look around here!  I’ve been looking at lots of blogs lately, that I love and they are all so bright and inviting and I knew mine just wasn’t.  So I thought I could use a little update.  Hope it’s a bit easier to read.  Now, on to the update…

Aaron & Me at the top of Ridgecrest in Black Mountain, right after Thanksgiving.

Aaron & Me at the top of Ridgecrest in Black Mountain, right after Thanksgiving.

Aaron and I are just about finished Christmas shopping (one more person left!), even though I don’t know that we’ve totally recovered from all of our Thanksgiving travel. Long weekend, but good to be with so much family.  We’re still constantly exhausted.  Maybe that’s normal for being an adult?

The house is all decorated for Christmas though!  I love decorating for any holiday but Christmas is so fun.  I always hate to see the decorations go away, so I’m trying to enjoy them while I can.  I found myself the other night just standing in front of our Christmas tree, staring at it.  Who does that?  I just love all the ornaments and lights, I wanted to take it all in.  Weird, I know.

And, I decided to change up our Christmas tree location in our living room this year.  Except I decided that AFTER we already put the tree up and decorated it!  So I drug the tree across the living room to where I wanted it.  And this happened.  Poor Aaron could have cared less about the tree being ok or if I broke any ornaments, or if the tree fell on me, he just wanted to know if the tv was ok.  Which it was.  I’m not sorry I moved it though, it works much better by the fireplace now.

photo-63

Also, this is random, but remember when I was venting about not being able to afford custom Christmas cards this year in this post?  Well, scratch that!  Yes, we can afford custom Christmas cards this year!  A few weeks ago, Cardstore.com was offering 10 photo Christmas cards per user for free with free shipping.  That’s great, but we send like 50.  So I searched their “rules” and nothing said I couldn’t order a bunch as long as I used different users to order them.  So using 5 different users, I ordered 50 Christmas cards for free!  And, I found a Christmas card design on their “free” list where I could upload my own design – so I did!  I was able to design our cards after all.  And they came in recently and don’t look half bad!  The spacing of what I uploaded isn’t exactly perfect and our photo turned out slightly muddy, but I can’t get too upset since they are free.  Custom design anything makes my heart happy so WooHoo!

Thanks Cardstore!!

Thanks Cardstore!!

As for shopping this week, Harris Teeter didn’t have a ton of deals but I needed several things for a few party recipes and wanted to take advantage of the few coupon match ups I did see.  Lately, I’ve been grabbing basics at HT, when I know they will be cheaper at Aldo or Food Lion.  I’ve got to stop doing that!  The eye opener this time?  $2.69 for a red pepper.  SERIOUSLY?  I paid almost $3 for ONE pepper?  I still can’t get over that.  They are $0.50 each at Aldi.  Will. Not. Do. This. Again.

Anyway, here’s how I did at HT:

photo-64

HT Meal Deal (2 Bird’s Eye Voila meals, one 2L Coke, and one can of Pillsbury breadsticks for $7.99): I also had two $1.75 off Bird’s Eye Voila coupons which made this meal deal $4.49.  Not bad at all!

Ristorante Pizza: On sale for $2.77 plus I had a $1.00 off coupon making this $1.77.

Muellers Pasta (3): On sale for $0.87 each (or $2.62 for all three) plus I had a $1.00 off three coupon making this all three for $1.62.

Pepperidge Farm Baked Naturals: On sale for $2.50 plus I had a $0.75 off coupon which doubled to $1.50 making this $1.00

Lance Cracker Creations: On sale for $2.50 plus I had a $1.00 off coupon making this $1.50

Grape Jelly: $2.39

HT brand roasted peanuts: $3.27

Chow Mein noodles: $1.69

Cinnamon Toast Crunch: On sale for $3.00 plus I had a $0.60 off coupon which doubled to $1.20 making this $1.80.

Frosted mini wheats (2) and Frosted flakes (1): On sale for $2.97, $1.84, & $1.85 plus I had a coupon for $1.00 off three, making these $1.88 each.

HT can pineapple: On sale for $1.17

Dole can mandarin oranges: On sale for $1.00 each plus I had a $0.40 off two coupon that doubled to $0.80 making these $0.60 each.

HT cheddar cheese block: $1.57

Cucumber: $0.79

Bananas: $0.93

Grapes: $9.26!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am just now seeing this. I paid almost $10 for GRAPES???????  Never. Again.

Red pepper: $2.69!!!

HT wax paper: On sale for $1.00

Santa Cello bags: On sale for $1.99

Total spent: $50.86.  Not bad – it just could have been better.

Leave a Reply

