Shopping this week

I did my shopping a bit differently (for me, at least) this week for a couple of reasons.  1) I ran out of a few necessities and 2) I got a (few) great high value coupons.  Let me explain:

I ran out of my makeup this week and out of cotton balls.  I had to act quickly and grab these things quickly on Wednesday and the best place I knew to grab them is Rite Aid.  Since I’m at a certain level in my customer loyalty to Rite Aid, I get 10% off on things that are not on sale.  So if my makeup and cotton balls are note on sale (and they weren’t), I’ll at least get 10% off.

I did think ahead enough to run home and glance at the Rite Aid ad for any other toiletry items that I could grab while I was there and found a great deal on Aaron’s “must have” toothpaste.  Here’s how I did there:

RA Cotton balls: $3.49 plus my 10% off making it $3.14

Almay foundation: $13.99 plus my 10% off making it $12.59

ProNamel toothpaste (2): Regular price $6.29 plus they were buy one get one 50% off so my second one rang up at $3.14 plus I had two manufacturer’s coupons for $1.00 off and two Rite Aid video value coupons for $1.50 off.  That makes $5.00 in coupons that came off, making each tube of toothpaste $2.21.  Not bad!

Total spent: $21.86.  

Then on Thursday, I headed to Harris Teeter armed with a $10 off $50 coupon that I scored from Recyclebank. I have a few of these and I wanted to use this one before I expires in late November.  It was a good thing I decided to use it this week because Harris Teeter had tons of stuff on sale.  I try really hard not to spend more than $50 a week on groceries and toiletries but since I did so well with Super Doubles last week, I thought I had some wiggle room this week to spend some more.  Plus, I HAVE to spend that much to use the coupon – so I grabbed a few things that I normally wouldn’t buy at HT just so I’d be at a price point high enough to use the coupon.  Turns out, I spent a lot less than $50! Here’s how I did:

Kraft shreaded cheese: On sale for $1.72 each plus I had a $1.00 off 2 coupon making these $1.22 each.

Pillsbury Grands buscuits (3): On sale for $1.00 each plus I had a $0.50 off three coupon which doubled to 1.00 plus I had a ZVR coupon for $0.40 off making these $0.53 each

Pillsbury cinnamon rolls (2): On sale for $1.00 each plus I had a $0.50 off two coupon which doubled to $1.00 plus I had a $0.40 off ZVR coupon making these $0.30 each.

Pillsbury crescent rolls (2): On sale for $1.00 each plus I had a $0.50 off two coupon which doubled to $1.00 plus I had a $0.50 off ZVR coupon making these $0.25 each.

Bob Evans mac & cheese: On sale for $3.50 plus I had a $0.55 off coupon which doubled to $1.10 making this $2.40.

Smart Balance Milk: On sale for $2.14 plus I had a coupon for $0.75 off which doubled to $1.50 making this $0.64

Green Giant seasoned steamers: On sale for $1.59 plus I had a $0.75 off coupon which doubled to $1.50 making this $0.09.

Freshetta pizza: On sale for $5.00 plus I had a $0.75 off coupon which doubled to $1.50 making this $3.50

Baquet chicken pot pie (2): On sale for $0.87 each

Snickers Ice cream bars: On sale for $2.34.  No coupon used but this is one of Aaron’s favorite things.

HT Garlic bread: On sale for $1.67

HT Garden Salad:  Regular price $1.49

HT Shreaded lettuce: Regular price $1.79

Grapes: $3.98 (that sees really high!)

Libby Pumpkin (2): On sale for $1.67 each.

Cereal (Cheerios, Honey nut Cheerios, 2 Cinnamon toast crunch (4 boxes total)): HT was having a promotion for buy 4 boxes of General Mills cereal and get $3.00 off your purchase.  So after the $3.00 off I paid $1.75 for Cheerios, $2.54 for HN Cheerios, and $3.50 for two CT Crunch.  Plus, I had one coupon for each box ($0.60 off, $0.50 off, $0.50 off, and $0.50 off).  These doubled to a total of $4.20 in coupons.  Making the cereal $0.89 per box!  PLUS I had a ZVR coupons for the Cheerios and CT crunch for $0.50 and $0.50.  So that makes all my cereal FREE!!

HT Ketchup: On sale for $1.00

Mario bacon bits (2): On sale for $1.50 each

HT Black beans (2): On sale for $0.77 each

HT Pretzels: On sale for $1.64

HT Bread: On sale for $0.99

Kraft Mac & Cheese: Regular price for $2.69 plus I had a $0.75 off coupon which doubled to $1.50 making this $1.19.

Set of two pie pans: On the clearance rack for $1.70

Plus, I used my $10 off $50 coupon, making my total: $33.47

Leave a Reply

