4th of July Pinterest Party

I was very fortunate to have my entire immediate family with us on the 4th.  My sister lives in California so it is great to have her here for a few days.  I love to play hostess so with my sister’s & husband’s help, we put together a beautiful patio lunch for us to enjoy with my parents.

I think they were hungry!

You can’t see all the food in this picture but Aaron grilled chicken kabobs, hotdogs, corn, and I made a strawberry jello dessert and a few Pinterest inspired fruit dishes.  The first was this pretty plate of red, white and blue strawberries.  I saw this image on Pinterest and decided it was simple enough to do.  Here is the Pinterest photo and then mine.

Photo from Pinterest

My version

And then I saw this beautiful bowl of star-shapped watermelon.  My wonderful sister found a small star-shapped cookie cutter and brought with her all the way from LA for us to use on this project.  Here is the “Pinspiration” and then our version.

Photo from Pinterest

Our Version

Seriously, what would we do without Pinterest?  And, thanks to couponing, these were fairly cheap projects: I bought the blueberries weeks ago when they were on sale and froze them, bought the strawberries, sprinkles and white icing at Aldi for a great price, and grabbed the watermelon from Target clearance.

Leave a Reply

