Harris Teeter & Aldi weekly trip

I tried something new this week and it didn’t work, so I didn’t get as many deals as I usually do, but here it is anyway.  I usually go to a store on the day they start their deals and for HT, that’s on Wednesday.  But, we’ve had a busy week so I didn’t get to go until Sunday afternoon.  I thought that would be ok since HT stocks on Saturdays, but items were out anyway.  And, since I waited to get my act together, a lot of the coupons I needed to print were no longer available.  I won’t do that again!  I also bought some produce at HT, which I usually don’t do.  Aldi & Food Lion have much better produce prices so I was pretty much shocked at the price of the produce I bought.  Here’s what I got:

Philidelphia Cream cheese: On sale for $1.50.  No coupon used because it ran out before I could print it.

Suddenly Pasta Salad (2): On sale for $1 each plus I had a $0.50 off coupon which doubles to $1.00 making these $0.50 each.

Skinny Water (2): On sale for $1.65 each, plus I had a $1.00 off coupon which made these $1.15 each.  For some reason, I thought these were going to be cheaper – again, not on my A game today.

Luigi’s Italian Ice (2): On sale for $2.00 each, plus I had a $0.75 off 2 coupon which doubled to $1.50 plus I had a $0.75 ZVR (HT online coupon) which does not double making these $0.87 each.  A really great price since regular price for these is $4.00 each.

Utz Tortillia chips: On sale for $1.74.  No coupon, but I needed them for an event that evening.

Chinet plates: On sale for $1.89 plus I had a $0.55 off coupon which doubled to $1.10 making this $0.79.

Green Peppers: $1.79 for the pack.  Not a bad price, but Aldi carries them for $0.50 a piece for a better deal but I needed these for a recipe.

Strawberries (2): 2 for $6.  NOT A GOOD PRICE!  I almost got sick when I saw how expensive these were.  Buet, I needed them for an event that evening.  This is what happens when I wait until the last minute to go shopping!!  And, I just want to say that these were the WORST strawberries I’ve ever purchased!  All of the ones at the bottom were squished and gross and almost every one had a spot on them.  I still can’t believe I paid $6 for nearly rotten strawberries. Uhh!

Total for this trip: $17.50.  Not terrible – but next week will be better!

 

The next day, I headed to Aldi to get some produce and other items for our July 4 cookout with our family.  You can’t use coupons at Aldi but their prices are amazing.  In the future, I need to just suck it up and make the trip to Aldi when I see expensive food at HT and don’t have a coupon.  I would have saved so much money by doing that the day before!  Here’s what I got at Aldi:

Strawberries (2): Each package was $1.29.  And, they are beautiful strawberries!  So together, I paid less than HALF of what I paid for two packages at Harris Teeter and these were better!

Sweet Corn (3):  Each package of 4 was $1.29 making it $3.87 for 12 ears of corn.

Pineapple: $1.99

Artisan Lettuces: $1.99

White Icing: $1.29 – again, too much to pay for icing but I needed it for a recipe.

Frozen Stir Fry veggies: $3.49

Snickers Ice Cream bars: $2.79

Hot dog buns: $0.79

Kraft Olive Oil Mayo: $2.89.  This is too much to pay for mayo, but this specific kind is one we use in a lot of recipes.

Total spent: $22.11.  So even without coupons, I think I scored at Aldi.  HT better put out some great deals this coming week to get back in my good graces!

 

Leave a Reply

