Our office plans

When Aaron and I moved into our house two years ago, we really enjoyed painting and making the place our own.  Of course, we couldn’t do everything then and have been working on things little by little since then.

Our latest project is our office.  It’s  a pretty large room near the front door of our house so everyone sees it when they walk in the door and so it’s a bit awkward to decorate.  Here’s a picture of part of the office.  Outside of those windows is our front porch and our front door is to the left.  We’ve also go a desk to the left in the corner.  There’s a big empty space there in the center that isn’t being used.  And, that bookshelf is quite old and cheap looking so it needs to go!  I’ve just wanted to make this space more usable for quite a while.

Since we don’t have a basement or bonus room this is the only space we’ll have for our future kids to do crafts and play.  Plus, we need somewhere to store books and things without it looking this messy.  I thought built-ins would be a grea solution to hold craft supplies, books, and future kids stuff.  So, Aaron and I drew up some plans for how we’d like this space to look.  Here’s what we’ve come up with:

 

 

I LOVE IT!  I’m so excited about it that I can hardly stand it.  I love the window seats and the molding and bead board Aaron’s going to put together.  We are headed to Lowe’s this weekend to get the wood and bead board and Aaron will get started on it.  The only change to the image above is that we will take the bookcases to the ceiling.  I’ve got to locate the right pillows on Etsy and grab the black and white fabric for the curtains at Ikea.  I’ll also need to find a similar rug but I’m not sure where to find one inexpensively.  We are going to use our current light blue curtains for the fabric on the new seat cushions too.

Can’t wait to get started on this!  I’ll post the finished product once it’s done.

 

Leave a Reply

